Enable at the BAFTAs: BAFTA Breakthrough Talent 2020 celebrating disabled creatives

UK and USA Breakthrough participants have been revealed as part of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) 2020 BAFTA Breakthrough participants, supported by Netflix.

Credit: BAFTA

And the team at Enable HQ have gone behind the scenes to speak directly with the disabled participants for this year’s event to get their tips and industry secrets.


In May, BAFTA announced the global launch of BAFTA Breakthrough (previously known as Breakthrough Brits), the only new talent initiative that showcases and supports the next generation of creative talent in film, games and television.

A high accolade in the creative arts, BAFTA Breakthrough celebrates the talents of 34 of the most promising future stars of film, games and television. Diversity is at the heart of the recognition, with six participants from both the UK and USA identifying as disabled.

Tim Renkow Credit: BAFTA


“We are thrilled to be announcing our first ever BAFTA Breakthrough participants in the USA alongside those for our seventh year in the UK,” expresses Amanda Berry OBE, chief executive of BAFTA.

“This year’s cohort is such a strong and inclusive list, revealing the future stars of our industries.”

Participants include comedian, writer and performer Tim Renkow (Jerk), director Jordan Hogg (Ackley Bridge) from the UK to American sound engineer turned documentary maker Jim LeBrecht (Crip Camp).

This year, BAFTA Breakthrough has selected talent through cross-industry global juries comprised of leading industry professionals, including the likes of Paapa Essiedu, Fiona Shaw, Edward Enninful and Amma Asante.


Jordan Hogg Credit: BAFTA

Supporters of the initiative in recent years include actors Olivia Colman, Tilda Swinton, Zawe Ashton, actor-producer Brad Pitt, directors Tom Harper, Barry Jenkins and Asif Kapadia, game designers and developers Brenda Romero, Hideo Kojima, Siobhan Reddy, Tim Schafer, actor-writers Sharon Horgan and Amy Schumer.

Don’t miss our exclusive interviews with Tim Renkow, Jordan Hogg, Bim Ajadi and Jim LeBrecht across our website this week!

This year’s official partner of BAFTA Breakthrough, in the UK, USA and India is Netflix, providing integral support for global expansion.

Amanda continues: “We are delighted to be partnering with Netflix again this year which is supporting the global expansion of Breakthrough into the USA and India.

“Netflix shares our vision to raise awareness of and celebrate emerging talent from an array of different backgrounds and cultures.”


Bim Ajadi Credit: BAFTA

Marking the first global launch of a BAFTA initiative, encouraging cross-cultural connections and collaboration, this year’s BAFTA Breakthrough participants will all be celebrated in 2021.

There is another reason to celebrate for the applicants, receiving one-to-one mentoring and career guidance, full voting membership of BAFTA, access to BAFTA events and networking events both in the UK and internationally.

We’re joining the BAFTA celebrations this week, as we publish our exclusive interviews with some of the BAFTA Breakthrough participants to discuss everything from recognition, breaking down misconceptions around disability and advice for your future career.

Follow us in social media to be alerted when interviews go live, TwitterFacebook or Instagram.


The full list of BAFTA Breakthrough participants in 2020 is:

UK (23):

  • Abigail Dankwa, Multi Camera Director (Love Song)
  • Aleem Khan, Director / Writer (After Love)
  • Ali Tocher, Game Audio Designer (Surgeon Simulator 2)
  • Amir El-Masry, Performer (Limbo)
  • Ben Sharrock & Irune Gurtubai, Director / Writer & Producer (Limbo)
  • Bethany Swan, Hair and Makeup up Designer (I May Destroy You)
  • Bim Ajadi, Director (Here Not Here)
  • Bukky Bakray, Performer (Rocks)
  • Catherine Unger, Artist/Co-Writer (Tangle Tower)
  • Chella Ramanan, Narrative Designer/Writer (Before I Forget)
  • Claire Bromley, External Game Producer (Sackboy: A Big Adventure)
  • Jordan Hogg, Director (Ackley Bridge)
  • Joy Gharoro-Akpojotor, Producer (Blue Story)
  • Lea Schönfelder, Lead Game Designer (Assemble With Care)
  • Linn Waite & Kate Byers, Producers (Bait)
  • Rina Yang, Cinematographer (Sitting in Limbo)
  • Rubika Shah, Director/Writer (White Riot)
  • Ruka Johnson, Costume Designer (Blue Story)
  • Tamara Lawrance, Performer (The Long Song)
  • Tim Renkow, Writer/Performer (Jerk)
  • Youssef Kerkour, Performer (Home)

US (11):

  • Aadip Desai, Writer (The Goldbergs)
  • Arnaldo Licea, Game Designer (The Last of Us Part II)
  • Edson Oda, Director / Writer (Nine Days)
  • Ekwa Msangi, Director / Writer (Farewell Amor)
  • Fernando Reyes Medina, Multiplayer Designer (Halo Infinite)
  • Gene Back, Composer (Cowboys)
  • Jim LeBrecht, Co-Director (Crip Camp)
  • Lauren Ridloff, Performer (Eternals, The Walking Dead)
  • Mary Kenney, Game Writer (Spider-Man: Miles Morales)
  • Nicole Newnham, Co-Director (Crip Camp)
  • Shannon DeVido, Performer (Insatiable, Difficult People)

Accessibility Tools

Discover more from Enable Magazine

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading